How to Play as Player 2
How to Play as Player 2
Maybe I'm bad at searching but I can't figure out how to play as the second player.
Some cores have a "switch joysticks" entry in their OSD but I didn't see any such thing in the arcade cores I have tried.
Some cores have a "switch joysticks" entry in their OSD but I didn't see any such thing in the arcade cores I have tried.
- JudgeDrokk
- Posts: 120
- Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 9:45 am
- Has thanked: 93 times
- Been thanked: 21 times
Re: How to Play as Player 2
Isn't the second joypad to be fired up the one that is set to PLAYER TWO?
(providing that both have been "set up" - they all all assigned and saved after setting up - so even if you have two of the same pad then u have to set both regardless. (i think)
(providing that both have been "set up" - they all all assigned and saved after setting up - so even if you have two of the same pad then u have to set both regardless. (i think)
Re: How to Play as Player 2
Not sure if this is the same thing. I was trying to start SF2 (WW/CE/HF) on the CPS1 core as player 2, but could not figure out a way, besides starting both P1 and P2, and winning as P2. I tried the specific keyboard shortcuts for both 2P coin and 2P start, but those did not appear to be behave any differently from mapped buttons on the controllers. I thought this was something that worked in the arcade, but its been a minute since I played on arcade hardware. I might be getting mixed up with later beat 'em ups, too.
Re: How to Play as Player 2
Did you ever find a fix for this? I'm trying to play as player 2 on the PSX core with one controller.
- aberu
- Core Developer
- Posts: 1192
- Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
- Location: Longmont, CO
- Has thanked: 247 times
- Been thanked: 411 times
- Contact:
Re: How to Play as Player 2
Adding a player swap is going to depend on each core. Some cores have it, some don't.
birdybro~
- aberu
- Core Developer
- Posts: 1192
- Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
- Location: Longmont, CO
- Has thanked: 247 times
- Been thanked: 411 times
- Contact:
Re: How to Play as Player 2
Here's how it was added to the SNES core, for perspective:
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L344
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L437
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L944
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L964
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... 1031-L1035
It would probably be slightly different in many cores.
I just added joystick swap to the Joust2 core as an example as well.
https://github.com/MiSTer-devel/SNES_Mi ... ES.sv#L344
Code: Select all
"O7,Swap Joysticks,No,Yes;",
Code: Select all
wire joy_swap = status[7];
Code: Select all
ioport port1
(
.JOYSTICK1((joy_swap ^ raw_serial) ? joy1 : joy0),
);
Code: Select all
ioport port2
(
.JOYSTICK1((joy_swap ^ raw_serial) ? joy0 : joy1),
);
Code: Select all
USER_OUT[1] = joy_swap ? ~JOY2_CLK : ~JOY1_CLK;
USER_OUT[4] = joy_swap ? JOY2_P6 : JOY1_P6;
JOY1_DI = joy_swap ? JOY1_DO : {USER_IN[2], USER_IN[5]};
JOY2_DI = joy_swap ? {USER_IN[2], USER_IN[5]} : JOY2_DO;
JOY2_P6_DI = joy_swap ? USER_IN[4] : (LG_P6_out | !GUN_MODE);
I just added joystick swap to the Joust2 core as an example as well.
birdybro~
- ItalianGrandma
- Posts: 211
- Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 7:09 pm
- Has thanked: 45 times
- Been thanked: 52 times
- Contact: