Background Music at the OSD Menu?
- Captain FPGA
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 373
- Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2021 9:19 pm
- Has thanked: 195 times
- Been thanked: 25 times
Background Music at the OSD Menu?
Hypothetically speaking, would it be possible to run a script with background music playing at the main menu? Such a script would preferably play upon power cycling on first activation. There should also be an off script kind of like the Mister's SAM has. Ideally the music itself could go in a single folder with potential sub folders, this will hold all your tracks.
What's the likelihood of something like this becoming a reality? Would it be difficult to implement? To me that kind of script would be a breakthrough in the same lane as Wifi, update_all and Mister_SAM. I'm used to playing my Original XBOX mod and hearing third strike music playing when I turn it on (with matching theme) something like this would be cool for the Mister.
What's the likelihood of something like this becoming a reality? Would it be difficult to implement? To me that kind of script would be a breakthrough in the same lane as Wifi, update_all and Mister_SAM. I'm used to playing my Original XBOX mod and hearing third strike music playing when I turn it on (with matching theme) something like this would be cool for the Mister.
Dreams don't die!
- RealLarry
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 881
- Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 4:04 am
- Location: San Junipero/DE/Earth
- Has thanked: 120 times
- Been thanked: 385 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
That would be of interest for me too, what possibilities we can expect. I have a "shutdown" script which unmounts all CIFS mounts, shutdown my NAS per ssh and displays a "power off" picture to tty2oled. But it would be nice to change the background image of MiSTer's menu also.
-
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 531
- Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:06 am
- Has thanked: 87 times
- Been thanked: 211 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
I have not tried it yet, however, if you rename /media/fat/_user-startup.sh to /media/fat/user-startup.sh then add something like the following:Captain FPGA wrote: ↑Wed Sep 22, 2021 12:09 pm Hypothetically speaking, would it be possible to run a script with background music playing at the main menu? Such a script would preferably play upon power cycling on first activation. There should also be an off script kind of like the Mister's SAM has. Ideally the music itself could go in a single folder with potential sub folders, this will hold all your tracks.
Code: Select all
aplay /media/fat/a1000.wav &
Code: Select all
mpg123 /media/fat/MP3/startsound.mp3 &
http://www.geekometry.com/2013/11/amiga ... oot-sound/
- lamarax
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 472
- Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
- Has thanked: 33 times
- Been thanked: 202 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
Woah, that worked! \o/bbond007 wrote: ↑Wed Sep 22, 2021 2:25 pmI have not tried it yet, however, if you rename /media/fat/_user-startup.sh to /media/fat/user-startup.sh then add something like the following:Captain FPGA wrote: ↑Wed Sep 22, 2021 12:09 pm Hypothetically speaking, would it be possible to run a script with background music playing at the main menu? Such a script would preferably play upon power cycling on first activation. There should also be an off script kind of like the Mister's SAM has. Ideally the music itself could go in a single folder with potential sub folders, this will hold all your tracks.or...Code: Select all
aplay /media/a1000.wav &
Maybe I'll try and make my A1200 MiSTer play the Amiga 1000 jingle on start.Code: Select all
mpg123 /media/fat/MP3/startsound.mp3 &
http://www.geekometry.com/2013/11/amiga ... oot-sound/
...but how do I amend the script (or which script do I have to edit) to be always on with each boot-up?
Sorry, I'm not a linux person
Edit: for reference, here's the .wav I used:
- terminator2k2
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:46 pm
- Has thanked: 27 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
just edit user-startup.sh
and add your file name bbc.wav in place of a1000.wav
also make sure you have uploaded the wav file
and add your file name bbc.wav in place of a1000.wav
also make sure you have uploaded the wav file
- RealLarry
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 881
- Joined: Mon May 25, 2020 4:04 am
- Location: San Junipero/DE/Earth
- Has thanked: 120 times
- Been thanked: 385 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
Answering to myself: Solved by using MiSTer_Batch_Control https://github.com/mrchrisster/MiSTer_Batch_Control
- Attachments
-
- shutdown.jpg (97.49 KiB) Viewed 3057 times
- lamarax
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 472
- Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
- Has thanked: 33 times
- Been thanked: 202 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
Let me rephrase; the script doesn't run automatically on each boot. I've placed it directly under media/fat and checked paths, then inside the 'Scripts' folder, even converted the .wav to .mp3 and put it inside the existing 'MP3' folder, editing the path accordingly.terminator2k2 wrote: ↑Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:18 pm just edit user-startup.sh
and add your file name bbc.wav in place of a1000.wav
also make sure you have uploaded the wav file
When manually executed, the script plays the file alright; my question is how can it be made to run 'by itself' at the moment of soft -or hard- rebooting.
With my limited knowledge, I'm guessing it's not that simple.
-
- Core Developer
- Posts: 459
- Joined: Wed May 26, 2021 9:35 pm
- Has thanked: 59 times
- Been thanked: 383 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
The user-startup.sh script will only run on startup of the linux os, which is during a cold-boot. Warm boots, and anybody please correct me if I'm wrong, is only the particular core in use is rebooted, therefore the script won't run.
Now what you may want to do, is write a script/daemon to monitor what core is running, if it's the main core, play the sound file, if not, stop/pause the playback.
Now what you may want to do, is write a script/daemon to monitor what core is running, if it's the main core, play the sound file, if not, stop/pause the playback.
- terminator2k2
- Posts: 36
- Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:46 pm
- Has thanked: 27 times
- Been thanked: 22 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
lamarax wrote: ↑Thu Sep 23, 2021 6:41 pmLet me rephrase; the script doesn't run automatically on each boot. I've placed it directly under media/fat and checked paths, then inside the 'Scripts' folder, even converted the .wav to .mp3 and put it inside the existing 'MP3' folder, editing the path accordingly.terminator2k2 wrote: ↑Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:18 pm just edit user-startup.sh
and add your file name bbc.wav in place of a1000.wav
also make sure you have uploaded the wav file
When manually executed, the script plays the file alright; my question is how can it be made to run 'by itself' at the moment of soft -or hard- rebooting.
With my limited knowledge, I'm guessing it's not that simple.
mine plays the sound with every hard reboot or power on, doesnt do it by soft re-boot though
my elgato capture card takes a few seconds to kick in, but audio is fine on main display
My script is in /media/fat/linux
https://youtu.be/cTO--_zM6iU
- lamarax
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 472
- Joined: Wed Nov 11, 2020 6:28 pm
- Has thanked: 33 times
- Been thanked: 202 times
Re: Background Music at the OSD Menu?
Yep, you're exactly right. I've managed to make it work (script must reside under media/fat/linux), but only works on hard (cold) reset.Flandango wrote: ↑Thu Sep 23, 2021 6:59 pm The user-startup.sh script will only run on startup of the linux os, which is during a cold-boot. Warm boots, and anybody please correct me if I'm wrong, is only the particular core in use is rebooted, therefore the script won't run.
Now what you may want to do, is write a script/daemon to monitor what core is running, if it's the main core, play the sound file, if not, stop/pause the playback.
On the other hand, this is the expected behavior of a BBC micro in my posted example (Ctrl+Break=cold reboot produced the jingle, while Break alone=soft reboot would be silent).
So thank you people for another 100% accuracy milestone!
this was easy
- marcelosofth
- Posts: 174
- Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2021 10:03 pm
- Location: Brazil - São Paulo
- Has thanked: 8 times
- Been thanked: 4 times
- Contact: