How to create floppy image .img?
How to create floppy image .img?
I wonder why I could not find this anywhere:
I have some .exe-files which I d like to access from ao486. How to do this?
For instance I could create a Floppy image from the files and mount the image in ao486. But how? I need a solution that works on macos.
Cheers
Ray
PS: I am looking for 2nd reality for mister, anyone got this on an image?
I have some .exe-files which I d like to access from ao486. How to do this?
For instance I could create a Floppy image from the files and mount the image in ao486. But how? I need a solution that works on macos.
Cheers
Ray
PS: I am looking for 2nd reality for mister, anyone got this on an image?
-
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 375
- Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 10:16 am
- Has thanked: 209 times
- Been thanked: 87 times
Re: How to create floppy image .img?
You can use imgburn, and create a basic iso with that, but for me it only works mounted on the Ao486 cds, so I would happily take the info on how to burn a image compatible with the floppy disk with imgburn.
Remastering Classic Game Cinematics: My new Youtube fun, check it out
https://www.youtube.com/@neocaron87
-
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 375
- Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2020 10:16 am
- Has thanked: 209 times
- Been thanked: 87 times
Re: How to create floppy image .img?
ok, a bit tedious, but it definitely works, thanks for that I'm still wondering about the iso settings to be compatible with the ao486 floppy drives?
Remastering Classic Game Cinematics: My new Youtube fun, check it out
https://www.youtube.com/@neocaron87
-
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 1911
- Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
- Has thanked: 145 times
- Been thanked: 454 times
Re: How to create floppy image .img?
Another way which I did not try?
https://sourceforge.net/projects/imdisk-toolkit/
https://sourceforge.net/projects/imdisk-toolkit/
Re: How to create floppy image .img?
Came up with another easy solution for my Problem:
Same can be done with .vhd-Files (just rename to .img). Its obvious and even described on the github page, but then again for me it wasnt
- Just copied one of the existing .img-files from the "floppy" dir to my Mac.
- The .img-File can be opened with a double click.
- Files can simply be removed/replaced with the desired files in Finder.
- Copied the modified .img-file back to miSTer.
- Done.
Same can be done with .vhd-Files (just rename to .img). Its obvious and even described on the github page, but then again for me it wasnt
-
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 1911
- Joined: Wed May 27, 2020 1:59 pm
- Has thanked: 145 times
- Been thanked: 454 times
Re: How to create floppy image .img?
I overlooked the fact you mentioned Mac OS, if I had known I wouldn't have bother to look. I also did not find any good information on how to use this program and when I did my test I used an existing disk image. Afterwards I looked more closely and discovered that you can create a floppy image by clicking on the Switch to Driver Interface but it looks like you cannot select the type of floppy, you have to give a size in bytes, KB, MB, ...
I tried 1.44MB but the file created was too small and was just a virtual image. I had to use the size from an existing floppy image which is 1,474,560 bytes for a 1.44MB floppy. It worked but it is not worth the trouble, better use an existing image which you can format and label in order to have a clean floppy image.
I tried 1.44MB but the file created was too small and was just a virtual image. I had to use the size from an existing floppy image which is 1,474,560 bytes for a 1.44MB floppy. It worked but it is not worth the trouble, better use an existing image which you can format and label in order to have a clean floppy image.
-
- Core Developer
- Posts: 459
- Joined: Wed May 26, 2021 9:35 pm
- Has thanked: 59 times
- Been thanked: 383 times
Re: How to create floppy image .img?
I know this is not for MacOS or WIndows, but if you want a quick blank 1.44 Floppy Image, in the mister console type:
This will create a blank floppy in the AO486 games folder, which you can then transfer to MacOS, mount it and pop your files in. Of course, you can use a different filename and path (in both commands).
Windows, without 3rd party software, you can't mount floppy images natively.
Further more, if you have your files already on the SD card and don't mind a little more linux on mister...
Code: Select all
dd if=/dev/zero of=/media/fat/games/AO486/BlankFloppy.img count=2880
mkfs.msdos /media/fat/games/AO486/BlankFloppy.img
Windows, without 3rd party software, you can't mount floppy images natively.
Further more, if you have your files already on the SD card and don't mind a little more linux on mister...
Code: Select all
mount /media/fat/games/AO486/BlankFloppy.img /mnt
***now copy your files to /mnt using cp command or tools like WinSCP...browse to /mnt and copy files***
umount /mnt