Hi all!
On my 31khz CRT VGA monitor I use forced_scandoubler=1 and I set scandoubler fx per system for the Computer cores.
But when I use my my MiSTer on my 15khz CRT Trinitron TV, the same cores show nothing (black screen because scandoubler fx is enabled).
Is there a way to enable scandoubler fx only on the VGA output or only when using an alternate ini file?
Enable scandoubler fx only on 15khz CRT in .ini alternate file
-
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
- Has thanked: 841 times
- Been thanked: 51 times
-
- Top Contributor
- Posts: 1019
- Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2020 5:44 pm
- Has thanked: 315 times
- Been thanked: 238 times
Re: Enable scandoubler fx only on 15khz CRT in .ini alternate file
You can use ini files to control forced_scandoubler only. Each core remembers your scandoublerfx setting and if it's anything but off, it will output a 31khz signal regardless of the forced_scandoubler setting, which is not going to sync to your TV.
If you are using dual output (I/O boared and HDMI with a converter), the easiest might be to use the scaler with your VGA monitor. So disable all scandoublerfx, connect your trinitron via the I/O board, and use an HDMI->VGA converter to connect to your VGA monitor. Also do the following settings
This is a 16:9 resolution but it will appear as 4:3 on your monitor. In cores in the HUD menu set aspect ratio= full and it will appear appropriately.
If that works, there's a lot more options for the video_mode to customize your resolution on a VGA monitor, even changing it up per core, if you want to dial in optimized sharpness for your needs. You can also use all the video processing presets, scanlines, shadow masks etc. without affecting the appearance on the Trinitron. You can even run both monitors simultaneously on most cores this way.
If you are using dual output (I/O boared and HDMI with a converter), the easiest might be to use the scaler with your VGA monitor. So disable all scandoublerfx, connect your trinitron via the I/O board, and use an HDMI->VGA converter to connect to your VGA monitor. Also do the following settings
Code: Select all
direct_video=0
vsync_adjust=0
video_mode=0
If that works, there's a lot more options for the video_mode to customize your resolution on a VGA monitor, even changing it up per core, if you want to dial in optimized sharpness for your needs. You can also use all the video processing presets, scanlines, shadow masks etc. without affecting the appearance on the Trinitron. You can even run both monitors simultaneously on most cores this way.
-
- Posts: 316
- Joined: Thu Sep 16, 2021 10:54 pm
- Has thanked: 841 times
- Been thanked: 51 times
Re: Enable scandoubler fx only on 15khz CRT in .ini alternate file
Thanks FoxbatStargazer, do you think that in the future there can be aFoxbatStargazer wrote: ↑Mon Mar 28, 2022 5:38 am You can use ini files to control forced_scandoubler only. Each core remembers your scandoublerfx setting and if it's anything but off, it will output a 31khz signal regardless of the forced_scandoubler setting, which is not going to sync to your TV.
If you are using dual output (I/O boared and HDMI with a converter), the easiest might be to use the scaler with your VGA monitor. So disable all scandoublerfx, connect your trinitron via the I/O board, and use an HDMI->VGA converter to connect to your VGA monitor. Also do the following settings
This is a 16:9 resolution but it will appear as 4:3 on your monitor. In cores in the HUD menu set aspect ratio= full and it will appear appropriately.Code: Select all
direct_video=0 vsync_adjust=0 video_mode=0
If that works, there's a lot more options for the video_mode to customize your resolution on a VGA monitor, even changing it up per core, if you want to dial in optimized sharpness for your needs. You can also use all the video processing presets, scanlines, shadow masks etc. without affecting the appearance on the Trinitron. You can even run both monitors simultaneously on most cores this way.
Code: Select all
scandoublerfx=0