Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Kernel, Main, Utilities & Applications, Miscellaneous Devices.
User avatar
felleg
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2022 4:05 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Unread post by felleg »

(I am running this on the Taki Udon MiSTer Pi, but I would be very surprised if this made a difference)

I'm using the latest version of MiSTer Batch Control. It works fine to launch anything that is not an ARCADE game. However, I have no problem launching an arcade game from the MiSTer UI. I'm curious to know whether other people experience this issue as well. I'm running out of ideas to identify the problem.

Code: Select all

# mbc
MBC (Mister Batch Control) Revision 34
Build timestamp: 2023-01-14/16:41:00+00:00
Build commit: 3873450d413c30e6b0339e6b3dbf2373e0e5a74a

I try to run this sample command (the same happens with any arcade game):

Code: Select all

mbc load_rom ARCADE '/media/fat/_Arcade/4D Warriors (315-5162).mra'

The game does not load. What happens is it will print a "No RBF found" message on screen if another game is playing. No error is printed on the command line. If on the main MiSTer menu, no message appears. Strangely enough, this only applies to arcade games. I have tested PSX and Saturn games successfully.

I looked inside the MRA to see what RBF was being referenced:

Code: Select all

<misterromdescription>
        <name>4D Warriors</name>
        <region></region>
        <homebrew>no</homebrew>
        <bootleg>no</bootleg>
        <version>315-5162</version>
        <alternative></alternative>
        <platform>Sega System 1</platform>
        <series></series>
        <year>1985</year>
        <manufacturer>Sega</manufacturer>
        <category>Shooter - Horizontal</category>

        <setname>4dwarrio</setname>
        <parent>4dwarrio</parent>
        <mameversion>0216</mameversion>
        <rbf>segasys1</rbf>
[...]

Sure enough, I have /media/fat/_Arcade/cores/SEGASYS1_20240602.rbf in my files. To confirm everything is setup correctly, the game loads fine when I launch it from the MiSTer main menu.

niallquinn
Posts: 136
Joined: Wed Jun 05, 2024 4:54 pm
Has thanked: 139 times
Been thanked: 33 times

Re: Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Unread post by niallquinn »

Sound like a lot of effort; in the menu to select core, and load the rom/iso/vhd up..

Why are you doing it this way if you don't mind me asking? Thanks.

User avatar
felleg
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2022 4:05 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Unread post by felleg »

I have found a workaround for this issue. If I run mbc from /root, Arcade games launch successfully. I'm not sure what explains this behavior, though. Running from any other location fails. I've updated my related GitHub issue: https://github.com/pocomane/MiSTer_Batc ... /issues/36

niallquinn wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 8:53 pm

Sound like a lot of effort; in the menu to select core, and load the rom/iso/vhd up..

Why are you doing it this way if you don't mind me asking? Thanks.

I think it's a valid question :) The reason why I am setting this up is because I have installed a MiSTer in a public environment (office). People are not interested in knowing how the MiSTer menu works, they just want to play a game and leave. Every month, I'm randomly choosing a new game for us to discover. I put barcodes on the wall that allows people to select the game they want to play. Thus, with this setup, people can enjoy many quality arcade games without me having to explain how to use the MiSTer.

Here is what the wall looks like: https://photos.app.goo.gl/jpq78K79o5uhSAfb8

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 937
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 374 times

Re: Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Unread post by FPGA64 »

felleg wrote: Mon Nov 11, 2024 4:44 pm

I have found a workaround for this issue. If I run mbc from /root, Arcade games launch successfully. I'm not sure what explains this behavior, though. Running from any other location fails. I've updated my related GitHub issue: https://github.com/pocomane/MiSTer_Batc ... /issues/36

niallquinn wrote: Sun Nov 10, 2024 8:53 pm

Sound like a lot of effort; in the menu to select core, and load the rom/iso/vhd up..

Why are you doing it this way if you don't mind me asking? Thanks.

I think it's a valid question :) The reason why I am setting this up is because I have installed a MiSTer in a public environment (office). People are not interested in knowing how the MiSTer menu works, they just want to play a game and leave. Every month, I'm randomly choosing a new game for us to discover. I put barcodes on the wall that allows people to select the game they want to play. Thus, with this setup, people can enjoy many quality arcade games without me having to explain how to use the MiSTer.

Here is what the wall looks like: https://photos.app.goo.gl/jpq78K79o5uhSAfb8

Sounds like you want a Tapto

https://tapto.wiki/MiSTer_FPGA

Even simpler

User avatar
felleg
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun Oct 30, 2022 4:05 am
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Unread post by felleg »

Maybe? I'm not sure how TapTo would make things easier for me. Buying a single barcode scanner is certainly more cost effective. With it there is no risk of losing NFC cards. The TapTo app looks great, but none of the people in my office will have it on their phone.

Then again, I have never tried TapTo. If there's a feature I have overlooked, I would be happy to learn more about it.

User avatar
mrchrister
Scripting Wizard
Posts: 295
Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2021 6:23 pm
Location: Canada
Has thanked: 32 times
Been thanked: 122 times

Re: Issues loading arcade games with MiSTer Batch Control

Unread post by mrchrister »

Instead of using mbc to launch arcade roms, just type

Code: Select all

echo "load_core ${mra}" >/dev/MiSTer_cmd

. For non arcade games you can construct a mgl file and launch that. Check SAM https://github.com/mrchrisster/MiSTer_S ... n.sh#L1874

Barcode scanner sounds fun. Tapto would be a great solution as well. If you buy the starter pack, it comes with NFC cards. https://shop.wizzo.dev/
Just print or buy labels, no need for anyone to tap their phone. I recommend labels from Ariel https://x.com/ArielAces/status/18463619 ... sYh-A&s=19

Post Reply