Neo Geo Pocket

MiSTer Consoles
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2022 2:42 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by MiSTer Consoles »

Is a BIOS file required for this system? I didn't see anything mentioned on the GitHub page. If so, does it go in the same folder as the games? I can't seem to get the Power button to work using Start on my controller or the number 5 on the keyboard. Was wondering if a missing BIOS could be the issue.

User avatar
Retro-Nerd
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:47 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Retro-Nerd »

The NGP Power Button is mapped to your "Coin" Button (if you mapped it manually to your pad). No, you don't need a Bios. Using the Power Button gives you a plain white screen. Just load the Rom then.

MiSTer Consoles
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2022 2:42 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by MiSTer Consoles »

Retro-Nerd wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 3:29 pm

The NGP Power Button is mapped to your "Coin" Button (if you mapped it manually to your pad). No, you don't need a Bios. Using the Power Button gives you a plain white screen. Just load the Rom then.

I had created a MGL file to link the RBF in the Arcade folder so I could access it in the Console folder instead. It seems like that must be breaking something. I think this particular core is unique because it depends on a MRA file. I wonder if there is some other way to get the MGL to work?

User avatar
Retro-Nerd
Posts: 279
Joined: Fri Jul 08, 2022 2:47 am
Has thanked: 11 times
Been thanked: 80 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Retro-Nerd »

I don't know. Jotego built is obviously around his arcade cores structure. A bit strange, since it's a normal portable. Probably for own convenience reasons.

MiSTer Consoles
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2022 2:42 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by MiSTer Consoles »

Retro-Nerd wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 4:18 pm

I don't know. Jotego built is obviously around his arcade cores structure. A bit strange, since it's a normal portable. Probably for own convenience reasons.

I can appreciate that. After doing a little searching on this site it seems as though arcade cores can't use the MGL file to create a link. A symlink has to be used instead. I'll have to do a little research on that as I've never created one of those before.

User avatar
dickhardpill
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:28 pm
Location: Not Portland, OR
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 59 times
Contact:

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by dickhardpill »

MiSTer Consoles wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 4:30 pm

I can appreciate that. After doing a little searching on this site it seems as though arcade cores can't use the MGL file to create a link. A symlink has to be used instead. I'll have to do a little research on that as I've never created one of those before.

You can always search “man ln” for more info as I don’t believe the man pages are included in the MiSTer build.

Links are way easier IMO

If you happen to be in the folder you want to put the link in;

Code: Select all

ln -s /full/path/to/target.mra

Or;

Code: Select all

ln -s /full/path/to/target.mra easier/ to/ read/ name.mra

Which is equivalent to;

Code: Select all

ln -s /full/path/to/target.mra “easier to read name”.mra

Or;

Code: Select all

ln -s /full/path/to/target.mra /full/path/to/where/you/want/EZ4U2C.mra

Or;

Code: Select all

ln -s /full/path/to/target.file /full/path/to/target/folder/

If you don’t supply a name for the link the original target name will be used.

I don’t like deleting links because of old problems and prefer to use the command;

Code: Select all

unlink

Also this all assumes you can SSH into your MiSTer or have a keyboard attached. I’m not sure if you can create links via FTP as it’s been decades since I’ve used it.

I has a you tube
Analog IO
USB board
VGA > Component
HDMI > FPM

MiSTer Consoles
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2022 2:42 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by MiSTer Consoles »

Thanks for the information on how to create those links. I can SSH into my DE-10 and navigate to the _Console directory where I want the symlink. Should I be creating a link to the jtngp.rbf core? If that's the case, would this command work?

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores/jtngp.rbf
User avatar
dickhardpill
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:28 pm
Location: Not Portland, OR
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 59 times
Contact:

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by dickhardpill »

sorry... I hadn't had my coffee yet, those were supposed to be MRA files.

You would want to link to the MRA file

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/"NeoGeo Pocket".mra

or

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/NeoGeo\ Pocket.mra

You will probably also need to link the cores directory into the folder as well, sometimes the parent directory will cover it as well

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores

I'm not 100% on that as I haven't tested with anything but arcade cores.

I has a you tube
Analog IO
USB board
VGA > Component
HDMI > FPM

KelSolaar
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2024 1:38 pm

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by KelSolaar »

Very confusing that the core goes into the arcade folder.

MiSTer Consoles
Posts: 150
Joined: Sun Dec 04, 2022 2:42 pm
Has thanked: 143 times
Been thanked: 24 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by MiSTer Consoles »

dickhardpill wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 7:04 pm

sorry... I hadn't had my coffee yet, those were supposed to be MRA files.

You would want to link to the MRA file

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/"NeoGeo Pocket".mra

or

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/NeoGeo\ Pocket.mra

You will probably also need to link the cores directory into the folder as well, sometimes the parent directory will cover it as well

Code: Select all

ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores

I'm not 100% on that as I haven't tested with anything but arcade cores.

No worries. I actually ended up using Wizzo's Remote app to make the symlink. He made it super simple. :)

User avatar
dickhardpill
Posts: 285
Joined: Tue Apr 09, 2024 9:28 pm
Location: Not Portland, OR
Has thanked: 73 times
Been thanked: 59 times
Contact:

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by dickhardpill »

KelSolaar wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 7:57 pm

Very confusing that the core goes into the arcade folder.

https://mister-devel.github.io/MkDocs_MiSTer/advanced/mgl/#mgl-arguments wrote:

Arcade Cores

Arcade cores cannot be launched using MGL files. If you want to make a shortcut to an arcade core elsewhere in the menu, you'll instead have to symlink (symbolic link) it there.

For example, either through SSH or the console (press F9 from the menu):

Code: Select all

# ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/dummy.mra /media/fat
# ln -s /media/fat/_Arcade/cores /media/fat

This would make a shortcut to an arcade core in the root of the MiSTer menu. It can also be done with menu subfolders.

Take note of the second line, symlink'ing the cores folder. You have to do this once for each folder you want to symlink MRA files into.

is all the information on the page concerning the subject. There may be more somewhere else, I just didn't find it.

and the roms go in

Code: Select all

/media/fat/games/NGP

but it is not case-sensitive so you can also use

Code: Select all

/media/fat/games/ngp

I has a you tube
Analog IO
USB board
VGA > Component
HDMI > FPM

retro
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:19 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by retro »

FPGA64 wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 7:35 am
retro wrote: Mon Jul 22, 2024 3:28 am

I think i am misreading something or being stupid, but I am having a hard time figuring this out

Where does the RBF file go? Under Arcade or Console? :(

Some guidelines on the folder structure required for this core would be greatly appreciated :)

update all downloads it to the correct location. Its in the arcade directory but needs a directory NGP created in the games directory for the roms

It shouldnt be in the aracde directory but JT cores all go here and so its misplaced.

Thanks! This has been most helpful.

LeftEmpty
Posts: 148
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 6:47 pm
Has thanked: 4 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by LeftEmpty »

I thought this was still beta and non responding to controls all this time because the inital bios boot doesn't do anything — I guess it is but the first ordeal to test your motivation to play that console.
It was only after reading mike911's message yesterday (thank you!) that I was able to to get...
to the point Jordi was, with white screen after setting up options...

I finally got a game to load, but oh boy:

When first launching the core, you have to cycle the power on/off with the "coin" (???) key as mike911 told us.
Then go through the bios settings.
Then you have to load a rom file.
Then cycle the power on/on with the coin key again (do not "reset" from the MiSTer menu, or you'll have to redo it all!)
Then hopefully play the game with some glitched audio.

Frankly, it being lost within the arcade folder feels pretty ideal, given how counterintuive it is to get to work (did I thank mike911 already?).

Ah, yes, you can't load another game right away.
If you wish to load a new ROM, you have to hit the reset in the menu, and go through the BIOS set up dance et all once more.

Boggles the mind.

retro
Posts: 148
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 5:19 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Has thanked: 47 times
Been thanked: 14 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by retro »

Nothing happens when I press the COIN button, even after manually defining the buttons for the core :(

I uploaded ngp.zip (containing both ngp_bios.ngp and ngpcbios.rom) in /fat/games/mame, but I still get the message stating the bios not found when I load either ngp or ngpc core.

FPGA64
Top Contributor
Posts: 937
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2021 3:10 pm
Has thanked: 49 times
Been thanked: 374 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by FPGA64 »

it should be in /fat/agmes/mame

It should be in /fat/games/NGP for the B+w

Tulius
Posts: 40
Joined: Sat May 29, 2021 4:51 am
Has thanked: 3 times
Been thanked: 4 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Tulius »

Is NeoGeo pocket color working on Mister fpga? It seems only working on pocket fpga.

jordi
Posts: 282
Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2020 10:11 am
Has thanked: 112 times
Been thanked: 87 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by jordi »

Tulius wrote: Sat Sep 07, 2024 5:46 pm

Is NeoGeo pocket color working on Mister fpga? It seems only working on pocket fpga.

Not for me

Torgo
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue May 26, 2020 5:43 pm
Been thanked: 1 time

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Torgo »

On one of his latest Patreon posts, he said that he moved it to Consoles from Arcade btw
August 30 posy
"JTNGP core renamed to NeoGeoPocket and moved to consoles folder."

User avatar
AfterBurnett
Posts: 36
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2022 7:40 am
Has thanked: 7 times
Been thanked: 3 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by AfterBurnett »

Anyone had any luck getting the B&W version going? I just get a white screen - the roms load but they don't run.

Goran
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2024 7:23 am

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Goran »

I will in some days get my mister allready set with all up. But my question is how can I add more cores likes this Neo Geo Pocket and othe ones in the easiest way?

AngelicLiver
Top Contributor
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:50 am
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 120 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

Goran wrote: Tue Oct 22, 2024 10:49 am

I will in some days get my mister allready set with all up. But my question is how can I add more cores likes this Neo Geo Pocket and othe ones in the easiest way?

Read the documentation thoroughly, watch the video below and using update_all will download everything you need (except for the ROMs). Jotego's beta cores require you to be an active Patreon supporter to use. Once they are out-of-beta they are free for public use.

Goran
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2024 7:23 am

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Goran »

I bought an already set up mister. Do I in the future just need to update all? then all new updates will be there? New cores and so on?

AngelicLiver
Top Contributor
Posts: 433
Joined: Fri May 29, 2020 8:50 am
Has thanked: 86 times
Been thanked: 120 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by AngelicLiver »

I would still read up on setting up, running and updating your MiSTer. Running update_all will keep you up-to-date and can be configured (press down when prompted on running the script) to download additional cores and much, much more.

Real6
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2020 11:46 am
Has thanked: 2 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Real6 »

AfterBurnett wrote: Sat Oct 12, 2024 7:42 am

Anyone had any luck getting the B&W version going? I just get a white screen - the roms load but they don't run.

Have you got any chance with it? I'm stuck at the same stage than you.

bogusaurus
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 20, 2024 4:51 pm

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by bogusaurus »

Real6 wrote: Fri Oct 25, 2024 11:37 am
AfterBurnett wrote: Sat Oct 12, 2024 7:42 am

Anyone had any luck getting the B&W version going? I just get a white screen - the roms load but they don't run.

Have you got any chance with it? I'm stuck at the same stage than you.

Also stuck, same thing. Have a bunch of ngc files in NeoGeoPocket directory in /games.

I pick one from the OSM and loading completes but stays on a white screen.

Flandango
Core Developer
Posts: 459
Joined: Wed May 26, 2021 9:35 pm
Has thanked: 59 times
Been thanked: 383 times

Re: Neo Geo Pocket

Unread post by Flandango »

bogusaurus wrote: Tue Nov 12, 2024 9:57 pm
Real6 wrote: Fri Oct 25, 2024 11:37 am
AfterBurnett wrote: Sat Oct 12, 2024 7:42 am

Anyone had any luck getting the B&W version going? I just get a white screen - the roms load but they don't run.

Have you got any chance with it? I'm stuck at the same stage than you.

Also stuck, same thing. Have a bunch of ngc files in NeoGeoPocket directory in /games.

I pick one from the OSM and loading completes but stays on a white screen.

I haven't come across any official instructions but....
I put the Neo Geo Pocket bios in the /games/NeoGeoPocket as boot0.rom.
I haven't played much with the NGP Color bios but you can use that one instead.
There is a chance the bios file(s) were downloaded and put into the Mame folder at some time...should be in a ngp.zip file.

Post Reply