Hard reboot over SSH?
-
- Posts: 105
- Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:33 am
- Been thanked: 19 times
Hard reboot over SSH?
Is it possible?
I pulled my hair out for 20 minutes changing ini setting through ssh and rebooting from there, not realising that the reboot command performs a soft reboot and therefore none of the settings were taking.
I pulled my hair out for 20 minutes changing ini setting through ssh and rebooting from there, not realising that the reboot command performs a soft reboot and therefore none of the settings were taking.
-
- Posts: 105
- Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:33 am
- Been thanked: 19 times
- aberu
- Core Developer
- Posts: 1192
- Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:34 pm
- Location: Longmont, CO
- Has thanked: 247 times
- Been thanked: 411 times
- Contact:
Re: Hard reboot over SSH?
Correct, I believe a hard reboot has to be initiated through the menu core.
Try:
That's what the updater script uses:
But yes, a full hard reboot will likely require direct input.
Try:
Code: Select all
reboot now
Code: Select all
if [[ "${REBOOT_NEEDED}" == "true" ]] ; then
if [[ "${AUTOREBOOT}" == "true" && "${REBOOT_PAUSE}" -ge 0 ]] ; then
echo "Rebooting in ${REBOOT_PAUSE} seconds"
sleep "${REBOOT_PAUSE}"
reboot now
else
echo "You should reboot"
fi
fi
birdybro~
-
- Posts: 105
- Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2020 1:33 am
- Been thanked: 19 times
Re: Hard reboot over SSH?
Thanks for this! It's not performing a full reboot, but it's enough for it to take new ini settings. So good enoughaberu wrote: ↑Thu Mar 25, 2021 7:51 pm Correct, I believe a hard reboot has to be initiated through the menu core.
Try:
That's what the updater script uses:Code: Select all
reboot now
But yes, a full hard reboot will likely require direct input.Code: Select all
if [[ "${REBOOT_NEEDED}" == "true" ]] ; then if [[ "${AUTOREBOOT}" == "true" && "${REBOOT_PAUSE}" -ge 0 ]] ; then echo "Rebooting in ${REBOOT_PAUSE} seconds" sleep "${REBOOT_PAUSE}" reboot now else echo "You should reboot" fi fi
- Sorgelig
- Site Admin
- Posts: 890
- Joined: Thu May 21, 2020 9:49 pm
- Has thanked: 2 times
- Been thanked: 214 times
Re: Hard reboot over SSH?
it doesn't even need any reset.
reload the core (or restart MiSTer binary) is enough to apply new ini settings.
Or you can choose the same ini config from OSD menu and it will also reload the core with new ini.
reload the core (or restart MiSTer binary) is enough to apply new ini settings.
Or you can choose the same ini config from OSD menu and it will also reload the core with new ini.
Re: Hard reboot over SSH?
I always though a hard reboot is physically turning off all power then turning back on again and booting up again.
if it's done by a code or script it's a soft reboot.
if it's done by a code or script it's a soft reboot.
It is my great regret that we live in an age that is proud of machines that think and suspicious of people who try to.