Launching MM4
I'm trying to run MM 4, he writes to me that there is not enough memory. Who can tell what kind of memory is missing and if it is operational, can it be increased?
The online community for MiSTer FPGA enthusiasts
https://misterfpga.org/
I'm trying to run MM 4, he writes to me that there is not enough memory. Who can tell what kind of memory is missing and if it is operational, can it be increased?
What is mm4? Motocross Madness? Might and Magic? Mad man? Mad Max?
Run mem /c to see how much memory you have free. Most probably game wants more conventional mem free, so you should load drivers high (himem.sys, emm386.exe, dos=high in config.sys and then decicehigh or loadhigh for all drivers).
See example https://www.computerhope.com/ac.htm
Goingdown wrote: ↑Tue Dec 27, 2022 5:01 amWhat is mm4? Motocross Madness? Might and Magic? Mad man? Mad Max?
Run mem /c to see how much memory you have free. Most probably game wants more conventional mem free, so you should load drivers high (himem.sys, emm386.exe, dos=high in config.sys and then decicehigh or loadhigh for all drivers).
See example https://www.computerhope.com/ac.htm
sorry, Might and Magic 4
It works for me under DOS 7.1 and using QEMM (game uses extended/expanded memory as I understand). My setup is inspired from Flynnsbit's work on his Top300 collection:
A snip from my config.sys:
Code: Select all
[QEMM]
device=c:\qemm\dosdata.sys
SET LOADHIDATA=C:\QEMM\LOADHI.RF
DEVICE=C:\QEMM\QEMM386.SYS RAM BE:N FRAME=D000 ARAM=D000-EFFF ARAM=B000-B7FF RF
device=c:\qemm\dos-up.sys @c:\qemm\dos7-up.dat
DEVICE=C:\QEMM\LOADHI.SYS /RF C:\QEMM\QDPMI.SYS SWAPFILE=DPMI.SWP SWAPSIZE=1024
DEVICE=C:\QEMM\LOADHI.SYS /RF C:\DOS\SETVER.EXE
SHELL=C:\QEMM\LOADHI.COM /RF COMMAND.COM /P /E:640
DOS=HIGH,UMB
DEVICE=C:\QEMM\LOADHI.SYS /RF C:\DOS\IFSHLP.SYS
DEVICE=C:\QEMM\LOADHI.SYS /RF C:\DRIVERS\XCDROM.SYS /D:IDE-CD
Snip from my autoexec.bat:
Code: Select all
:QEMM
C:\QEMM\LOADHI /RF C:\DRIVERS\SHSUCDX.COM /D:IDE-CD /L:F /V /C
c:\qemm\loadhi /rf c:\DRIVERS\cute20\ctmouse.exe /r2
REM C:\QEMM\LOADHI /RF C:\DRIVERS\SOFTMPU\SOFTMPU /MPU:330 /OUTPUT:COM1
C:\QEMM\LOADHI /RF C:\DRIVERS\DOSKEY20.COM /INSERT
c:\QEMM\LOADHI /RF C:\WINDOWS\SMARTDRV.EXE 65536 /E:65536 /B:0
Mem/c looks like:
Install settings with MT32 support:
Result:
I probably wouldn't use that as a general configuration, however; 570K free of lower memory is quite bad. You typically want over 600K free. IIRC, there were one or two games that required something like 608K, though I can't remember which they were after so long.
I'd really expect that game to work with a clean HIMEM/EMM386 setup, rather than needing QEMM, but that might only be true on real hardware. The AO486 is an odd beast.
Malor wrote: ↑Wed Dec 28, 2022 4:49 pmI probably wouldn't use that as a general configuration, however; 570K free of lower memory is quite bad. You typically want over 600K free. IIRC, there were one or two games that required something like 608K, though I can't remember which they were after so long.
I'd really expect that game to work with a clean HIMEM/EMM386 setup, rather than needing QEMM, but that might only be true on real hardware. The AO486 is an odd beast.
I have config.sys/autoexec.bat set up with menu and all for multiple situations (Himem only, clean, emm386, qemm, extended). Of course, I can offload some more drivers (which I have on "clean" setup) to have more conventional memory (eg. cdrom, misterfs drivers etc). However, some games are a bit picky and seem to work better or only with QEMM (Betrayal at Krondor, Might and Magic 4 etc).
thera34 wrote: ↑Wed Dec 28, 2022 5:34 pmMalor wrote: ↑Wed Dec 28, 2022 4:49 pmI probably wouldn't use that as a general configuration, however; 570K free of lower memory is quite bad. You typically want over 600K free. IIRC, there were one or two games that required something like 608K, though I can't remember which they were after so long.
I'd really expect that game to work with a clean HIMEM/EMM386 setup, rather than needing QEMM, but that might only be true on real hardware. The AO486 is an odd beast.
I have config.sys/autoexec.bat set up with menu and all for multiple situations (Himem only, clean, emm386, qemm, extended). Of course, I can offload some more drivers (which I have on "clean" setup) to have more conventional memory (eg. cdrom, misterfs drivers etc). However, some games are a bit picky and seem to work better or only with QEMM (Betrayal at Krondor, Might and Magic 4 etc).
20221228_193200-screen.png
If I choose something other than "clean", the system does not see the hard drives