Page 1 of 1

Genesis gamesmenu problem

Posted: Fri May 24, 2024 3:56 pm
by misterrocks

In gamesmenu I see Genesis (which I think is labeled "old") and Mega Drive. When I enable MD in gamesmenu and generate the menu everything works fine, but if I exit the script and then start it again the MD option has been disabled. All of the other cores that I've enabled stay enabled.


Re: Genesis gamesmenu problem

Posted: Fri May 24, 2024 4:45 pm
by dickhardpill

I can confirm this happening on my MiSTer as well. It doesn't seem to cause any problems but I just exited the menu after confirming.


Re: Genesis gamesmenu problem

Posted: Wed Jul 03, 2024 8:02 pm
by dickhardpill

in my extremely limited testing the problem seems to be

Code: Select all

/media/fat/names.txt

specifically the line (line number 114 in my file);

Code: Select all

MegaDrive:          Genesis

needs to be changed to;

Code: Select all

MegaDrive:          MegaDrive

and then you can change the name of

Code: Select all

/media/fat/_Games/_Genesis

to

Code: Select all

/media/fat/_Games/_MegaDrive

or delete the folder (all of _Games or _Games/Genesis) and. re-run the script. It no longer shows [NO] for the default under MegaDrive if I have already generated a menu.

Hope this helps somebody.


Re: Genesis gamesmenu problem

Posted: Mon Sep 23, 2024 8:12 pm
by misterrocks

Should this be fixed upstream? Still happening here.


Re: Genesis gamesmenu problem

Posted: Sun Oct 27, 2024 1:28 am
by dickhardpill
misterrocks wrote: Mon Sep 23, 2024 8:12 pm

Should this be fixed upstream? Still happening here.

it does not appear to be fixed

after the last update I had to reapply the fix

Code: Select all

cp /media/fat/names.txt /media/fat/backup.names.txt
sed -i "s-MegaDrive:[[:space:]]\+Genesis-MegaDrive:          MegaDrive-g" /media/fat/names.txt

sed -i 's-MegaDrive:\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ Genesis-MegaDrive:\ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ \ MegaDrive-g' /media/fat/names.txt

I did some reading and evidently you only need to escape the first space

evidently I read wrong

if something goes wrong your original names.txt is first copied to /media/fat/backup.names.txt